top of page
Search
  • mkmau8

That's a wrap

Wow. Two more nights. It doesn’t feel real yet. It hasn’t registered that I’m going to be leaving my dorm in two days then Europe in two weeks. It’s unbelievable. The past five months have absolutely flown by. I really didn’t think I would be sitting here feeling like this. I was truly worried that I was going to finish the exchange and want to go back to Hawaii, but in all honesty, I wish this could last forever. I wish I could stay in this same place with these same people in this same time. I wish we didn’t have to say goodbye. But that’s not reality. We all have to go back to our “normal” lives after this. I know it will be an adjustment back to what my life was like before, but I think after seeing everyone leave, I’m ready to go too. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love Europe and Copenhagen. But the city and the country just feel a bit more empty knowing that all the people I care about aren’t in the country anymore. Or, if they are, they aren’t in Copenhagen. And even if they were, everyone else is back home. That’s the best and worst part about being the last to leave: you get to say goodbye to everyone and watch them leave. I do miss them, but at the same time, I’m so happy to see them go home and let them see their families again. I miss my dog and my family as well, but like I said, if I could stay in Copenhagen in my dorm with everyone, I would. Even if it meant digging myself into a financial hole because I haven’t worked in a while. Even if I couldn’t go back and see my family, I think I might actually choose to stay. Now, this is me at an incredibly emotional moment, so of course I’m going to say something irrational like that. But that’s just what I’m thinking at this moment, even if it’s not actually what I’m thinking. I mean we all do it, let's be honest.

I think it’s compounded by the fact that I never thought I’d meet so many amazing people. I think now that I’m older and of course with modern technology, I’ll definitely be able to keep in touch. And it doesn’t hurt that I live in Hawaii, which is basically on everyone’s bucket list to go to. Aside from the flights being ridiculously expensive, I’m completely fine paying for their meals and letting them stay in our small apartment. I think if the only thing they have to worry about is paying for the flight, it will be much less of a financial burden on them. Also, the reason I am so frugal is so that I can do stuff like treating my friends and of course blowing a bunch of money during my exchange semester. And, now that I (somewhat) know how to make a pretty complete meal (that loco moco that my roommate was the guinea pig for) I’m going to try to make other things so that they can have a nice home cooked meal as an option. Of course, I’m going to take the to all my favorite local spots but things get pretty expensive. So if I can save money and also provide a high quality meal, I’m going to do that. Also, I will have to show my friends a shave ice store so that they stop saying “shaved ice”. I have no idea why it bothers me but it does.

But I guess this is it. Actually, I’ll probably have a few more entries just because I’m going to be in Copenhagen and then in Europe for a bit longer. But this is officially the end of my study abroad exchange part since I have to move out of the dorms in two days. Actually, one last thing, I am proud of myself because right now, I could probably leave the dorm since I’ve cleaned almost everything up. This is probably the first time something like this has happened when I’m actually early. My bags are packed, my room has been cleaned, all that’s left to do is say goodbye to my room that kept me alive for the past five months. I’m glad I feel sad right now because it means the experience was worth missing. And I’d much rather feel sad and miss an experience than have nothing to miss at all.

Oh! Actually, there are two final dinners scheduled, one in my room for one last loco moco, and one at a sushi restaurant not far from the dorms. I’m so happy that we get to end things off on such a great note. I get to make one last loco moco for my friends, and then get to enjoy some good sushi with them. My heart is so full!

Anyway, I have to go shopping then get ready for dinner! But that’s all for this final “official” entry.

Please enjoy a hodgepodge of pictures of the amazing people I've met that I had to scour my phone for.




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page